ABC: Not as easy as 1-2-3

I had the ABC show Malcolm in The Middle on in the background while I was cleaning the house this evening, and good lord. As if the world needs another television show about a shrill mother (thanks crazy Patricia Heaton!), ambivalent father and bratty teenage/pre-teen kids. Mmmm… stereotypes!

Modern Family. Entertaining, funny, clever, and a much more interesting (and realistic) family dynamic. I started watching this one online earlier in the season, but stopped after a few weeks because, eh… I have other things to do.

Cougar Town. I can’t even watch this shit. The commercials alone make me want puke up my adolescent years spent watching Friends. There’s a reason why I don’t watch much TV. At least none of these have laugh tracks. I’m looking at you, wretched, wretched Two and a Half Men.

But Lost! Oh, sweet sweet Lost. It’s rare for me to dedicate myself to watching a show each week, but I love me some Lost. The day after an episode ends I’m pouring over Lostpedia.org, Entertainment Weekly articles, and even the occasional theorizing message board. I love that they weave so many levels and analogies into the storyline, pulling subtle references from Dante’s Inferno to the Wizard of Oz to Kierkegaard. That’s the kind of multi-dimensional storytelling that I can get behind.

Plus there’s no screaming Patricia Heaton.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “ABC: Not as easy as 1-2-3”

  1. Duffy Says:

    Oooohhhhh I think Two and a Half Men is on……

Leave a Reply

