Life in an American recession

This blog originally was a place where I spurt forth all the snarky, semi-humorous, sometimes heartfelt stories, anecdotes, observations and the like that I brewed in my uniquely twisted brain. It was a decent place for that for the first few months. Obviously over the hectic holiday season I more or less abandoned this outlet and like many blogs, it seemed doomed to become detritus in the debris-clogged land of the interwebs.

Until Thursday, when I was laid off from my job of 2 1/2 years as a graphic designer and brand manager for a local family-owned company.

I’ll spare the details of my employment, but this was completely and absolutely unforeseen. In fact on my way to work that morning, with the sun shining on the Columbia River and the recent heavy snows melted to all but occasional slushy banks along the edge of the highway, I thought that I was pretty damn lucky to have such a great and steady job in these tough times. Cue to 4pm when I’m told I am to be laid off that day. Not only that, but by the time I tearfully got back to my desk I had already been locked out of my computer. Cold, dear world. Cold.


So here I am with a mortgage, student loan payments, car and home insurance, medical, credit card bills, utilities and the like all needing to be paid with my single income while living in a small community and knowing of no immediate job prospects in my industry.  Needless to say, that’s a little intimidating.

Since I have this new abundance of time on my hands, I have decided to steer this blog into a much more personal and socioeconomically relevant direction by discussing the trials and tribulations of being a newly unemployed, 20-something professional in our daunting economic times. For me it might last a week, it might last a month. You know just as well as I.

Welcome to life in an American recession.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

